top of page

A Life Better On The Road

Keep writing. Keep going. This post is for you, but it’s for me, too. Because there are days that it’s a challenge to do anything that feels productive. I end up being consumed by my own anxieties and stresses to a point it becomes paralyzing. I want this blog to inspire others to be outside more and take the adventurous route in life. I’ve been writing here for a short amount of time, and when I first started it I did not have any other intention other than to share my travels, but now I want this blog to be a platform for other's to be inspired and believe they're capable of pursuing their dreams. Your dreams are possible, whether it's on the trail, on the road, or simply in life.

Today, I want to share with you a conversation that has me re-evaluating my approach to life and considering other options. You don't have to live each day waking up and dreading your daily commute, and you don't have to go to a job where you're treated poorly. You can change this, and this conversation will prove it.

 

When full-time solo van traveler Pat Matteo left his parent's driveway in Cleveland, Ohio in the summer of 2017, he had no idea what was in store for him on this new journey he was embarking on the road. Spending a couple of years, working 60+ hours a week and saving every penny he had, Pat knew there was more to life than bills and a 9-5 job.

Pat never expected he'd end up in the Arctic, watching the Northern Light or embracing the hospitality of new friends made in Mexico. But when you feel that sense of adventure, you let your gut guide your hands on the steering wheel.

In this interview, you'll read Pat's story of persistence, vulnerability, and strength on the road. Sometimes looking for the right fit in this crazy world is a never-ending journey, but when you take risks to find a new approach to this so-called life by being on the road, it can fit perfectly.

In short - Pat's story is inspiring and a reminder to live our life to the fullest.

Meet my friend, Pat!

Pat Matteo

Photo by Pat Matteo

Age: 30 Vehicle: 2000 Chevy Astro AWD Hometown: Cleveland, Ohio

Where you can find me sleeping/camping:

I have two necessary criteria when traveling:

  1. Excellent views

  2. No fees

Canada is a free camper’s paradise. The U.S. has plenty of free camping especially on public lands which are in abundance in the southwest. When I was in Mexico, I was almost always on the coast but was willing to pay for certain camp spots because it’s so inexpensive there. If it’s a sandy white beach with crystal clear water, I’m happy to pay 100 pesos a night for it. There’s no shortage of beautiful free camping along the coast as well. Besides that, I’ve been fortunate enough to meet a few different people along the way who’ve either let me stay at their house or camp on their property. Mexicans are particularly hospitable.

Where you can find me exploring most:

After a year on the road, I’ve learned I love dry climates the most, and wouldn’t mind spending winters in Mexico. I also like the Pacific Northwest and spent about three months in British Columbia - It's stunning up there. It was great to experience Alaska and the Arctic, but I love warm weather too much to make a habit out of that.

Where you can find me working:

It depends on a few factors. I try to work as little as possible but eventually reality sets in, and I accept that as part of the deal, so when I have to work, I try to keep it simple. Over the holidays I worked in a warehouse for a wine club in Los Angeles, and in the summer I’m camp hosting in southern Washington. Jobs like these don’t pay well, but with budgeting and steady hours I can replenish my bank account in one season and get back on the road. I never stop thinking about money and opportunities to make it. It’s always in the back of my mind. I love to travel, and that’s what lets me do it all of the time.

Hannah: Do you live in your vehicle full time?

Pat: Yes, I didn’t expect to adjust to it so quickly, but I’m used to it and sleep great in my van.

Hannah: How long have you lived in your vehicle?

Pat: Almost a year, I started living in it full-time in July of 2017.

Reaching The Arctic

Photo by Pat Matteo

Hannah: What do you eat?

Pat: The first few months of the trip I had a horrible diet. I ate mostly quick meals and stuff you can easily cook over a fire or camp stove. I’ve never been much of a cook, so I’m trying to change that. I don’t have a refrigerator, so any perishable foods have to be eaten within a day or two after buying it. In Mexico, I ate almost exclusively Mexican food and did some fishing as well. It’s tougher to find variety down there, but luckily I never get tired of tacos.

Hannah: Do you have routines? Systems?

Pat: Not strictly, lack of structure is what attracted me to this life. I used to be very routine-oriented, but I’ve embraced the absence of it. My only daily routine seems to be waking up to the sunrise. I’m typically awake and active by 5 or 6 AM. It’s nice to get as much out of the daylight as possible.

Pat Matteo Van Setup

Photo by Pat Matteo

Hannah: How do you fund your lifestyle on the road?

Pat: I saved for almost two years back home in Cleveland, Ohio. I worked several jobs, and my parents were gracious enough to let me stay with them rent-free - I’m grateful for that. Working 60+ hours a week isn’t something I’d wish on anyone, but I was determined to gather enough money at least get me started. Aside from that, I work when I feel I must and try to spend responsibly. It would be nice to get steady online work so I can travel all the time, and that’s the ultimate goal.

Hannah: What do you miss most about living in a traditional apartment or home?

Pat: As far as being away from home, I miss my friends, family, and cat. Since I usually travel alone, there isn’t someone to share experiences with which can be a drag at times, so I try to keep in touch with friends and family. It pleases me to share experiences with them.

I also miss not bumping my head and elbows when moving around the place. I don’t have a refrigerator or microwave which can limit what I can eat. Apartments and houses also have bathrooms, which I miss. Sometimes you have to throw a little dignity to the wind to relieve yourself. All in all, I think it’s been worth the sacrifices.

Hannah: What have been some of your most wild moments on the road?

Pat: The most exciting and exhausting part was traveling the Dalton Highway in Alaska. It runs from Fairbanks to the Arctic Ocean. It’s about an 800-mile round trip and was built as a haul road for trucks to carry equipment to and from the oil fields that lay beside the Arctic coast. There’s a variety of hazards: long stretches of soft shoulders, vast clusters of potholes, dust, thick mud and extremely steep hills. Even the paved sections had their own set of obstacles. It’s as if the road was explicitly created as an obstacle course. You also have to deal with these things while avoiding massive trucks barreling down the road. But if you’re willing to go up there, you’ll be rewarded with not only some of the most astonishing scenery and wildlife on earth but the satisfaction that you are one of few people who will get to experience the Arctic Circle.

It was along that road that I saw the Northern Lights for the first time and stepped into the Arctic Ocean.

"It was the most extraordinary week of my life."

I picked up three hitchhikers in the Yukon: a German, a Brit and an Australian, and they wound up spending a week with me. We crossed into Alaska together, so it was great to have that experience with other people. I met up with one of them again a month later in Whitehorse, Alaska and he rode with me all the way to San Francisco, California. It was refreshing to introduce someone from another country to a part of the U.S.

Pat Matteo with Friend

Photo by Ryan Ball, @ryballphoto

Hannah: What have you been able to do/accomplish that you wouldn’t have if you weren’t on the road?

Pat: I learned to surf last summer up on Vancouver Island, British Columbia. That was something I’ve always wanted to do. Spoiler alert: it’s hard, and the ocean is a scary place. I started reading more than I used to - having a ton of free time allows me to do that now. Getting to the Arctic was a big moment for me. It always seemed like an impossible place to reach, almost as if it didn’t exist. Spending the winter in Mexico was an eye-opening experience contrary to what the TV tells us - Mexico isn’t any less safe than most places in the U.S., and the people there are by and large helpful, hospitable and generally kind. Overall I’ve just become more self-sufficient, more appreciative of my time and more willing to try new things.

"I feel more in control of my life than I’ve ever felt."

Hannah: Have you had any particular low points and if so, what did you do to overcome it?

Pat: The first time I started running low on money was the only low point I've felt, it was the first time I had to deal with financial insecurity, so there was a ton of uncertainty and second-guessing myself. I wondered what I was even doing at times. My anxiety started to seem silly and juvenile, but getting through it was a huge step. I haven’t felt a day of despair since and I accept the fact that I’ll need to work to keep going with this lifestyle.

Photo by Pat Matteo

Hannah: #vanlife has become popular on social media, what are some important factors you would tell someone considering this lifestyle?

Pat: Living in your vehicle can get very muddy, sandy and smelly. Sometimes you have to pee in bottles because there are bears around or because you’re in the middle of the city at 2 am. You also might have to spend more time at Starbucks and Walmart than you’d like. I guess it depends on how you travel, what you can afford, what kind of vehicle you have, etc. But the boring and gross aspects of living in a van aren’t advertised very much, it’s romanticized on Instagram, sometimes to a nauseating degree, but I think most of us drew a ton of inspiration from social media because how could you not? Much of living like this isn’t glamorous or exciting, but getting to see the world this way has been worth any of the inherent inconveniences. The extraordinary moments more than make up for the unremarkable ones.

There’s also a significant stigma toward vehicle dwellers, mostly in highly populated areas. I imagine a lot of it stems from our tendency to view the homeless as second-class citizens, which is shameful. Many people do it purely for adventure, but it’s easy to forget that some do it out of necessity and circumstances far beyond their control. I think I do it out of the adventure, sure but also out of practicality.

"My generation is more financially insecure than the previous, and I think that expanded my imagination of what I can do to get something out of life. I wanted to see the world and knew that life would be a constant financial struggle if I remained at home anyways, so why not try a different approach?"

I haven’t paid rent or utility bills in a long time and removing that stress has had a considerable impact on my quality of life. In many ways, van living seems like a no-brainer to me, but everyone’s circumstances are different. It seems strange, but I’m grateful that this is a viable way of living.

In the Redwoods

Photo by Pat Matteo

Follow Pat on his journey on Instagram at @going.mental

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
bottom of page