top of page

What to Wear On the Trail

Hiking doesn't require any specific type of clothing, especially if you are just getting started with hiking and exploring short trails. I recommend dressing appropriately for the weather and throw on some gym shoes. Once you start hiking more and begin hiking moderate/advanced leveled trails, you'll begin to understand why it's necessary to wear specific items and be as comfortable as possible. It took me nearly a year after diving back into hiking again to acquire a closet of technical hiking garments. I typically wear a combination of the same items year round and switch out certain things depending on the season or type of trail (desert, mountain, etc.).

Hiking Gear Grid

- Under Garments -

Quick dry undies are important for staying cool, dry, and most importantly ODOR-FREE, and clean on the trail, and there are a ton of options to choose from.

Women's options: ExOfficioGive-N-Go Bikini

Ladies, I always suggest a sports bra and feel free to wear whatever brand you're most comfortable in!

- Pants and Shorts -

When the temperature drops I swap my running shorts for some hiking pants or leggings. Typically I'll wear leggings if it's a thick spandex, otherwise I love REI's Co-op Screeline Hybrid Pants if you're opposed to spandex. As for the shorts, any gym shorts will do - you can always check out your options at an athletic store or even your local Marshalls or TJ Maxx for more short options.

- Wicking Shirt -

For men Nike makes a similar shirt, the Nike Legend t-shirt.

- Insulated Jacket -

I love the Patagonia Nano Puff jacket as an extra layer of warmth. This is a great jacket for winter-hiking and also makes an effective and comfortable layer under a shell. I like that it packs small, so it is easy to stuff in my pack. It is made of 100% recycled polyester, and once you're ready for a new one it can be returned to Patagonia Common Threads Recycling Program and be recycled into new gear.

Men can get this jacket too!

Patagonia Nano Puff

- Rain Gear -

Weather in the mountains is never easily predicted, meaning you need to be prepared! I don't know about you, but I hate feeling wet and uncomfortable on a hike so I always make sure I have my rain jacket and rain pants. It's important to make sure your rain jacket is windproof, has pit zips and maybe an adjustable hood to keep the pesky rain from getting inside your jacket.

I love REI's rain jacket and Columbia's rain pants - men and women can get these at any outdoor retailer and there a lot of inexpensive options.

- Socks -

Please do yourself a favor and ditch the cotton socks! Cotton socks will give you blisters and opting for wool socks will help eliminate this. Wool helps reduce sweat and stays snug against your foot eliminating friction and preventing hot spots and blisters.

Some socks I swear by are Wrightsock for hotter weather and Darn Tough for colder weather (or whenever) - both brands keep me comfortable and hiking longer.

- Hiking Shoes -

Boots: Everyone has their preference when it comes to hiking boots, I love Merrel and Keen! Merrel is lightweight and incredibly comfortable. Keen's boots gives me extra support with their thick sole and sturdy leather around my ankles. I tend to be clumsy and trip a lot, and my Keen boots have saved me from a couple falls!

Keep in mind you want your boots to be waterproof and you want them to be comfortable. Always get your boots half a size larger in case your feet swell from hiking long distances.

Trail Running Shoes: I haven't jumped on this bandwagon yet, however low top hiking shoes are preferred by most thru-hikers. I have weaker ankles, so I'm hesitant to give them a shot yet. All opinions aside, the preferred trail running shoe/low top hiking shoe brand suggests Altra. Check them out and let me know what you think!

- Accessories -

Hat: I always hike with a baseball cap for sun protection or a bucket hat. Wear whatever hat you prefer, even it's a straw cowboy hat!

Sunglasses: I'd suggest choosing something lightweight and something with UV protection.

Bandanna or Buff: I don't regularly hike with a buff, I'm a total bandanna fan - however, this may change. A buff adds extra protection around your neck from the sun and the ability to cover my nose and prevent inhaling dust from the trails!

I hope this post provided you some options about what to wear on the trail!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
bottom of page